Classic Chinese Chow Mein

classicchinesechowmeinthumb

My gf. LOVES chow mein. If she has the chance to get it at a take out restaurant, you can bet both sides are going to be this. She loves the crunch of the cabbage, and the bean sprouts, and the sauce. Personally I prefer fried rice, but I can’t fault her for knowing what she likes, and while I don’t enjoy it as much, a good side of chow mein can be a nice change from rice on occasion. So when I found the recipe on my social media, again from Cooking Panda, I had to save it and share it here for future reference so I could make it for her myself. Especially since there doesn’t seem to be a Chinese Take out near enough to take her. Here’s hoping I can do the dish justice myself. It’s basic enough and pretty straight forward, but still leaves room for customization for everyone’s tastes.

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 10 minutes
Difficulty: easy
Servings: 3

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces chow mein noodles, cooked a minute shy of the directions
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1/4 head cabbage, thinly sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sweet soy sauce, or 1 1/2 teaspoon soy sauce + 1 1/2 teaspoon dark brown sugar and a pinch of ground anise
  • 4 tablespoons oyster sauce
  • 1 cup water
  • 6 ounces bean sprouts
  • Sesame seeds, for garnish

Directions:

1) Cook chow mien noodles one minute shy of package directions. Drain and set aside.

2) Heat a large pan or wok on high heat. Add canola oil and cabbage. Cook cabbage for 2 to minutes until wilted.

3) Add garlic and cook for an additional 30 seconds.

4) Add the soy sauce, sweet soy sauce (or homemade substitute), oyster sauce and water and bring to a boil for 1 minute.

5) Add in the chow mein and bean sprouts. Toss to coat.

6) Garnish with sesame seeds, serve immediately and enjoy!

Since some people can be allergic to shellfish, much like my gf seems to be, you can apparently substitute the oyster sauce for mushroom sauce or fish sauce as long as you aren’t allergic to fish as well.

While this recipe says it makes 3 servings, I’m pretty sure I’d have to make a double batch to make sure I have some of my own.

Leave a Reply

