Taco Noodle Bake Recipe

taco-noodle-bake_exps45735_pl1753640d48_rms

As stated in a previous post, I love almost anything with a south-western taste to it. I also have a weakness for pasta when it’s done right too. #guiltybutnotsorry

This taco bake is one of the quicker recipes I had a card for, and I’ve seen variants on the web for this recipe as it’s highly customizable. The one I’m posting is made with turkey, but you can use ground beef as well if you don’t care for poultry in this case. I’m sure chicken would work as well as a substitute.

Time: Varies

Yeild: 8

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups uncooked yolk free wide noodles.
  • 2 pounds ground turkey
  • 1 can (8 oz) tomato sauce
  • 1/2 c Water
  • 1 can (4 oz) chopped green chilies
  • 1 envelope of taco seasoning. (My gf makes our seasoning mix for these things, sadly, I can’t get her to write it out as she does it all by sight.)
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 cup (4 oz) shredded cheddar cheese (I usually use a mix of sharp cheddar and either Monterey jack, or just a packaged mexican/fiesta blend.)
  • 2 cups shredded lettuce
  • 1 cup diced fresh tomatoes
  • 1/3 cup sliced ripe olives, drained
  • 1/2 cup taco sauce (I usually use green myself.)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

  1. Cook noodles according to the package. Meanwhile, in a large nonstick skillet, cook the turkey over medium heat until no longer pink. Stir in the tomato sauce, water, chilies, taco seasoning, onion powder, chili powder and garlic powder. Bring to a boil. Reduce the heat, and simmer uncovered for 5 mins.
  2. Drain the noodles and place them in an 11 x 7 x 2 inch baking dish coated in nonstick cooking spray. Spread the turkey mixture over the top and sprinkle with cheese. Bake, uncovered, at 350 for 10-15 minutes or until the cheese is melted. Let stand for 10 minutes.
  3. After plating, top with lettuce, fresh tomatoes, olives and taco sauce. Dollop each serving with sour cream.

Personally I love fresh chopped onions on a lot of food, so I would personally add those as well as a few other toppings, simply because I love supreme tacos and the flavors usually translate well to dishes like this. Again, depending on your palate, one could substitute the turkey for any number of other meats, or even meat-less varieties. 

Leave a Reply

